SharePoint 2007: Workflow fails to start automatically

Okay now this posting does not yet have happy ending 😉 Recently I hit a bit of nasty "bug" or something. I have set up an normal SharePoint 2007 annoucements list with incoming email (users can send email to it) and in that list I have done a workflow (with Visual Studio 2008 style, not the Designer stuff) that runs when item is added to list. The purpose of this workflow is to transfer email item to next list and map the right columns and values. Now this works perfectly in my own devbox and in testing server but not in the client’s end.

Apparently this is related to security thing with Service Pack 1 for SharePoint 2007. There is limitations with SharePoint web application pool identity and starting workflows with that account, but yet I can not understand why this works in my own devbox and testing server (both do have WSS 3.0 with SP1 and MOSS with later applied Service Pack 1). I am still digging this problem and I’ll update this post when I get the right answer.

Oh btw. workflow runs perfectly when user starts it 😉

About Sakarih

I am SharePoint developer/architect from Finland and my blogposts are all about SharePoint 2007/2010/2013 stuff. There might be also something else posted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

