Next level in indoor air quality monitoring with Airthings

As previously posted, there were some challenges with CO2 level monitoring. Luckily this year’s Black Friday sale included the thing which I were drooling for long time: Airthings Wave Plus with good discount.

Airthings Wave Plus

From ready made indoor air quality monitoring devices, this stood up best for my purposes. The device includes CO2 and VOC monitoring together with other sensors (Radon, Temperature, Humidity). Most importantly, Airthings reports results through Bluetooth and there are libraries and examples how to read there results with Raspberry. This allows me to read results with Raspberry on given interval and combine findings with other sensors like PMS5003.

On last weekend I hooked up Airthings with Raspberry utilizing Kogant’s fork of the Airthings example (https://github.com/kogant/waveplus-reader) and with little modifications I set up Raspberry to record Airthings values every 5 minutes into CSV file, upload it to Dropbox and from there I can access it with any needed device (usually by phone and with PC to create graphics from report).

Now calibration period has been passed and Airthings is reporting CO2 values nicely. Values are looking to be around 450 ppm to 960 ppm. We’ll see how this device behaves on longer monitoring period. However my window replacement is coming on January so it will be interesting to see how CO2 levels start to behave when air intake is improved.

Also for side note about Radon: in a few years back I had Radon measured with Stuk (https://www.stuk.fi/palvelut/radonmittaukset) on this location and it seems that Airthings reports same kind of Radon values (I’ll need to dig into archives to find report paper with exact values but I remember that this location is not affected with Radon issues).

About Sakari H

I am software developer/architect from Finland. Originally I've worked long with SharePoint platform (from SharePoint 2007 to SharePoint 2019 & SharePoint Online), but now more with other things.
This entry was posted in Raspberry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.