SharePoint 2013 PeopleEditor

Okay I am back and I have something in my mind.

So now the SharePoint 2013 is available and I am developing software upon that platform. Now very first things what I found from the change list was intresting “new” peopleeditor. When you create standard SharePoint list & add column that is type of People, then you’ll get the new looking people editor which allows email addresses and more importantly shows search results on below the editor.

The old peopleeditor got a few new properties such as “AcceptAnyEmailAddresses”, but more importantly there is new control named “ClientPeoplePicker”. This picker is actually being used in built in SharePoint forms. Old picker works the way it should be but this is intresting new control and I am still exploring the differences.

About Sakari H

I am software developer/architect from Finland. Originally I've worked long with SharePoint platform (from SharePoint 2007 to SharePoint 2019 & SharePoint Online), but now more with other things.
This entry was posted in SharePoint 2013, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SharePoint 2013 PeopleEditor

  1. seekay says:

    I would like to validate this control on click of a button..do you know how to do that?

    • Sakarih says:

      It looks like the ClientPeoplePicker has .Validate() method which allows the control to be validated in button or other event. Validated information (=users or groups) can then be found from ResolvedEntities -property. Although it looks like the ClientPeoplePicker will validate much differently than original PeopleEditor (Which is usable too). I’ll have to take closer look at some point for this topic.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.